Brickfilms.com Words of Wisdom Film Contest!

HomeForumsEvents and Projects ForumsContests and Film FestivalsBrickfilms.com Words of Wisdom Film Contest!

This topic has 1 voice, contains 166 replies, and was last updated by Avatar of Z Z 4094 days ago.

Viewing 15 posts - 121 through 135 (of 167 total)
Author Posts
Author Posts
September 27, 2003 at 6:16 pm #15867
Avatar of RevMen
RevMen

That’s a good question. It’d be tough to find a time when a reasonable number of people could be in attendance, since we cover such a wide variety of time zones. In any case, I’ll post the results wednesday afternoon for me (MDT, GMT -06:00).

A “best fit” time that might work would be 22:00 GMT on Wednesday. That would be:

16:00 in Denver
12:00 in Honolulu
00:00 in Amsterdam
08:00 in Melbourne (Thursday morning)
02:00 in Moscow
19:00 in Halifax

It’s difficult to find a time when someone isn’t in the wee hours of the morning. It’s also difficult to find a time when people will be available in the middle of the week cause we’ve got school and work and other such nasty things. For instance, 4:00 PM is the earliest I’ll be available on Wednesday after work and classes.

Another route is for the Americans to do it early in the morning on Wednesday, hopefully before everyone here went to school or work. Maybe something like:

1200 GMT
0600 Denver
0800 Eastern US
0500 California
1600 Moscow
1400 Amsterdam
2200 Melbourne
0200 Hawaii

Obviously there’s no easy solution.

September 27, 2003 at 6:25 pm #15870
Avatar of CrystalBrick
CrystalBrick

I can go on wednesday at 2 pm, the second list

September 27, 2003 at 8:32 pm #15880
Avatar of Lieberman Bros.
Lieberman Bros.

why don’t you make a quick movie (mostly text) of the winners to keep it suspensful for all, cuz just comming on to the main page and seeing in the news the winners kinda ruins the suspense.

September 28, 2003 at 11:59 am #15948
Avatar of Blunty
Blunty

so how are we doing votes wise… I just posted mine in, are we still waiting on anyone?

September 28, 2003 at 3:29 pm #15961
Avatar of RevMen
RevMen

I’m glad you asked, Bluntman. The deadline is Tuesday, which is only 2 days from now, yet I still need votes from:

antiggo
drunken farmer ben
egoless
erlic
flash1015
hali
idiotless
jessicabrooks
kowarama skip
leftfielder
marshalg
motfilms
shootin bricks
stanley
strongest of the weak
theonewiththesharks
timboh
weirdears
witchbaby
yolegoman
z-studios

I’m pretty sure I won’t get all of those, but I’d really like it if I could at least get votes from all of the contestants. I mean, y’all did enter the competition. ;)

September 28, 2003 at 5:20 pm #15976
Avatar of Anonymous
Anonymous

That is only about half of the contestants. As nobody is allowed to vote for their own entry, this might shift the results in favor of the ones not sending in the ballot. They may get one more vote than the others. To compensate for this, you should consider one of the following additions to the rules:

A) Contestants not sending in the ballot are disqualified.
B) Contestants not sending in the ballot will lose their highest vote.
C) Contestants not sending in the ballot will lose points according to the average score received for their entry.

Alternative A may be too drastic. Option B has a touch of punishment to it. Suggestion C is more or less a neutral one.

September 28, 2003 at 5:31 pm #15980
Avatar of jamesfm
jamesfm

It’s the “quick reply” box isn’t it?

Identify yourself! :lol:

September 28, 2003 at 5:32 pm #15983
Avatar of RevMen
RevMen

This is true, and was brought to my attention 2 days ago by another wise Brickfilmer. Since the deadline was so close, and since people seem to have been voting very honestly, I decided to just let it rest and hope no one thought about it. But now you had to go and point it out and now I guess I have to do something about it.

I think the fair thing to do would be to deduct 10 points in each category from any contestant not submitting a ballot, as that would be the maximum advantage they could gain by withholding their votes.

Also in the interest of fairness, the deadline will now be extended to Friday at midnight, MDT (GMT -0600). In other words, any contestant not submitting their ballot by 0600 GMT, Saturday October 4th will have 10 points deducted from their score in each category. :(

September 28, 2003 at 6:58 pm #16017
Avatar of Lieberman Bros.
Lieberman Bros.

Good Thinking Rev, but what if someone puts the movies they think wont win as the best to give them selves an advantage over others. I hope no one does that cuz if they do ill :evil :twisted: :evil :twisted: :evil and #@#@#$#@$%^.

I’m sorry. I didn’t take my nap yet and im a little cranky. :twisted:

September 28, 2003 at 7:02 pm #16018
Avatar of RevMen
RevMen

You’ve pointed out the other inherent flaw in the “every contestant votes” system. Fortunately for us, we have a lot of very honest people here and none of the ballots I’ve seen so far make me even suspect the voter was doing such a thing. But now that it’s been called into attention this may be the last Brickfilms contest with such a judging format.

September 28, 2003 at 7:37 pm #16028
Avatar of Lieberman Bros.
Lieberman Bros.

I think for the next contest you can just have all none participating patrons and moderaters and administrators to vote that way it will be very difficult for any form of unfair judging.

September 28, 2003 at 7:38 pm #16029
Avatar of RevMen
RevMen

We’ll cross that bridge when we come to it. ;)

September 28, 2003 at 7:41 pm #16031
Avatar of David West
David West

Speaking of future brickfilms contests, any idea what the theme for the next contest will be? I wouldn’t mind a swashbuckler/action/adventure or western contest…

September 28, 2003 at 7:43 pm #16034
Avatar of Lieberman Bros.
Lieberman Bros.

Yeah a western contest would be good. (Yay i can finally use my old dusty western town :mrgreen: )

September 28, 2003 at 7:44 pm #16036
Avatar of RevMen
RevMen

I’ve been thinking of going along the lines of Cliffhangers/Action/Adventure, but it will be a while before the next contest, so there’s plenty of time to think about it. There are plenty of contests available off of Brickfilms, I don’t want to flood the market.

For now let’s concentrate on getting this one finished so I can send these prizes off to their deserving owners. They’ve been sitting in my living room for weeks now!

Viewing 15 posts - 121 through 135 (of 167 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic.